Glenn Steele Jr., MD

Chairman, xG Health Solutions
Summit Chair

Glenn Steele Jr., MD, PHD serves as Chairman of xG Health Solutions, an independently operated venture Geisinger launched to help healthcare organizations create value and improve quality, leveraging Geisinger intellectual property and expertise on issues such as population-health data analytics, care management and health IT. He is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Geisinger Health System (2001-2015), an integrated health services organization in central and northeastern Pennsylvania nationally recognized for its innovative use of the electronic health record and the development and implementation of innovative care models. Dr. Steele previously served as the dean of the Biological Sciences Division and the Pritzker School of Medicine and vice president for medical affairs at the University of Chicago, as well as the Richard T. Crane Professor in the Department of Surgery. Prior to that, he was the William V. McDermott Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School, president and chief executive officer of Deaconess Professional Practice Group, Boston, Mass., and chairman of the department of surgery at New England Deaconess Hospital (Boston, Mass.). Dr. Steele is past Chairman of the American Board of Surgery. His investigations have focused on the cell biology of gastrointestinal cancer and pre-cancer and most recently on innovations in healthcare delivery and financing. A prolific writer, he is the author or co-author of more than 488 scientific and professional articles.

Dr. Steele received his bachelor’s degree in history and literature from Harvard College and his medical degree from New York University School of Medicine. He completed his internship and residency in surgery at the University of Colorado, where he was also a fellow of the American Cancer Society. He earned his Ph.D. in microbiology at Lund University in Sweden.

A member of the National Academy of Medicine, Dr. Steele serves as a member on the Roundtable on Value and Science-driven Healthcare, the Committee on the Governance and Financing of Graduate Medical Education, the Vital Directions for Health and Health Care Steering Committee and previously served on the Committee on Reviewing Evidence to Identify Highly Effective Clinical Services (HECS). A fellow of the American College of Surgeons, Dr. Steele is a member of the American Surgical Association, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and past president of the Society of Surgical Oncology.

Dr. Steele serves on the following boards and national committees: Health Transformation Alliance (Vice Chair), Cepheid Board of Directors, City of Hope Board of Directors, Ingenious Med Board of Directors, PTC Therapeutics Board of Directors, Stratus Video Interpreting Board of Directors, Wellcare Health Plans Inc. Board of Directors, Healthcare Innovation Program (HIP) External Advisory Board (Emory University), the Peterson Center on Healthcare Advisory Board, Institute for Healthcare Optimization Advisory Board, and the State Health Care Cost Containment Commission. Dr. Steele formerly served on the following boards: Agency for Integrated Care (AIC) Singapore, Bucknell University Board of Trustees, Harvard Medical Faculty Physicians Board at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Premier, Inc. Board (Chairman 2011-2013), Temple University School of Medicine Board of Visitors, Weis Markets, Inc., Congressional Budget Office Panel of Health Advisers, Commonwealth Fund’s Commission on a High Performance Health System, the National Committee for Quality Assurance’s (NCQA) Committee on Performance Measurement, American Hospital Association (AHA) Board of Trustees, also served on the Executive Committee, Systems Governing Council, Long-Range Policy, Committee on Research, and the AHA Physician Leadership Forum Advisory Committee.

Dr. Steele is the recipient of several awards, NYU School of Medicine’s Solomon A. Berson Medical Alumni Achievement Award in Health Science, Medicine and the Arts (2016); AHA’s Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award (2015); NCHL Gail L. Warden Healthcare Leadership Award (2014); HFMA Board of Directors’ Award (2011); AHA Health Research & Education Trust Award (2010); AHA’s Grassroots Champion Award (2007); and CEO IT Achievement Award (2006). He has been named consecutive times to Modern Healthcare’s 50 Most Powerful Physician Executives in Healthcare, Modern Healthcare’s 100 Most Powerful People in Healthcare and Becker’s Hospital Review 100 Non-Profit Hospital Health System CEOs to-know List.