PARTNER WITH US
Summit Preview

2021 Summit

An invitation-only retreat of influential CEOs from across the industry
August 25-27, 2021 | Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Register

Candid discussions. Big minds. Real impact.

Health Evolution Summit is an invitation-only gathering that engages leaders committed to the transformation of health care. CEOs from health system, health plan, and life science organizations, as well as select policymakers, convene in an intimate environment to candidly debate ideas, build relationships and inspire creative solutions essential to the industry’s future. The 2021 Summit will be held on August 25-27 at the Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel.

We are very much looking forward to convening this nation’s health care leaders later this month at our Health Evolution Summit, August 25-27. Some 500+ participants are joining us in person, with others participating virtually, and we have a strong program lined up with a distinguished and diverse group of Discussion Leaders.

As you well know, our gathering is taking place at a critical inflection point in the pandemic and, as such, we want to make sure we make the best use of our time together to help you lead through this next stage most effectively, and that in gathering we model the right behaviors for others in terms of doing so responsibly and safely. As such, please note these changes in the run-up to the Summit.

Programming – First Focus on Latest COVID-19 Guidance and Collaboration for Industry Leaders

Given the critical juncture we are at with respect to COVID-19 and the Delta variant, we are tailoring the program accordingly:

  • We will focus first, starting Wednesday morning with Andy Slavitt, and the follow-on session with Discussion Leaders representing the payer, provider, and life sciences community, on the most up-to-date assessment as to where we are and the immediate priorities for industry leaders.
  • We also intend to use this gathering to discuss best communication practices and opportunities for this distinguished group of assembled health care leaders to come away delivering a clear and consistent message for both vaccinated and un-vaccinated Americans.

Precautionary Protocols – Modeling the Right Behaviors for Gathering Safely and Responsibly

As a sophisticated group of health care leaders, we share your desire to convene safely and to model responsible behaviors. As such, we have put in place a strong set of precautionary protocols we need all participants to be aware of and adhere to:

  • As you know we have already required all participants to be fully vaccinated to attend the Summit in person this year. Please note that we will need to see your vaccination card (photo or COVID-19 app QR code acceptable) at our check-in with proof of a negative test (a photo from a home test readout is acceptable).
  • In addition, we are now requiring all in-person attendees to take a Covid-test (either PCR or antigen) within 72 hours prior to arrival at the Summit and come to our check in desk with proof of a negative test in order to register.
  • We are also requiring participants to wear masks at all indoor Summit gatherings. We will be providing both surgical and N95 masks at check-in.
  • Indoor seating for our sessions will be more spaced out than in years past.
  • We are also striving to make the Summit as outdoor-oriented as possible this year, with all main stage programming simulcast on monitors that enable outdoor viewing and available on our virtual platform for any attendee to join in on from anywhere on campus. Likewise, a number of the social events will take place in the spectacular outdoor settings that the Ritz in Laguna offers.

Register here for the 2021 Summit on August 25-27.


2021 Summit Discussion Leaders
    • Amy Abernethy, MD, PhDPresident, Clinical Research Business, Verily;
      former Principal Deputy Commissioner, FDA
    • Greg A. AdamsChair & CEO,
      Kaiser Permanente
    • David Brailer, MDExecutive Chairman, Health Evolution
    • Chris Chen, MDCEO, ChenMed
    • Secretary Mandy Cohen, MDSecretary, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
    • Liz Fowler, PhDDeputy Administrator and Director, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation
    • Pat GeraghtyPresident & CEO, GuideWell Mutual Holding Corporation, Florida Blue and GuideWell Group, Inc.
    • Richard Gray, MDCEO, Mayo Clinic in Arizona and Vice President, Mayo Clinic
    • Alexander Hardy CEO, Genentech
    • Rod HochmanPresident & CEO, Providence
    • David HolmbergPresident & CEO, Highmark Health
    • Sachin Jain, MDPresident & CEO, SCAN Health Plan
    • Steve Klasko, MDPresident & CEO, Thomas Jefferson University and Jefferson Health
    • Wright Lassiter, IIIPresident & CEO, Henry Ford Health System; Chair-Elect of AHA
    • Mark McClellan, MD, PhDDirector, Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy & Robert J. Margolis, M.D., Professor of Business, Medicine and Policy, Duke University
    • Greg Moore, MD, PhDCorporate Vice President, Microsoft Health & Life Sciences, Microsoft
    • Farzad Mostashari, MDCo-founder & CEO, Aledade
    • Griffin Myers, MDCo-founder & Chief Medical Officer, Oak Street Health
    • Janice Nevin, MDPresident & CEO, ChristianaCare
    • Felicia NorwoodEVP & President, Government Business Division, Anthem
    • Peter OrszagCEO of Financial Advisory, Lazard
    • Dawn OwensCEO, TripleTree Holdings
    • Jon Perlin, MDPresident, Clinical Services & Chief Medical Officer, HCA Healthcare
    • David RicksChairman & CEO, Eli Lilly & Company
    • Mario SchlosserCEO & Co-founder, Oscar Health
    • Meena Seshamani, MD, PhDDeputy Administrator and Director of Center for Medicare, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
    • Andy SlavittSenior Advisor to the Biden Administration, COVID Response
    • Derek StreatCEO, DexCare
    • Chris TothCEO, Varian, a Siemens Healthineers Company
    • Micky Tripathi, PhDNational Coordinator for Health Information Technology, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    • Paul Tufano,Chairman & CEO, AmeriHealth Caritas
    • Glen Tullman,Executive Chairman & CEO, Transcarent
    • Christophe WeberPresident & CEO, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
  •  

The 2021 Summit will gather health care CEOs and senior leaders to reset the agenda for health care in a post-pandemic world.  It will examine the Biden administration’s policies and market implications, approaches to accelerate value-based care, new models of care delivery during austerity, the expanded role of IT and virtual care, and strategies to achieve lasting health equity in prevention and care.


Agenda

view summit schedule ›

Wednesday, August 25Thursday, August 26Friday, August 27
7–8 a.m. PT (10–11 a.m. ET)

Breakfast + Networking

7–8 a.m. PT (10–11 a.m. ET)

Breakfast + Networking

Forum Breakfast**

7–9:30 a.m. PT (10 a.m.–12:30 p.m. ET)

Breakfast + Big Discussions*

8–11 a.m. PT (11 a.m.–2 p.m. ET)

Summit Welcome + Big Discussions*

8–11 a.m. PT (11 a.m.–2 p.m. ET)

Big Discussions*

11 a.m.–1 p.m. PT (2–4 p.m. ET)

Lunch



12–1 p.m. PT (3–4 p.m. ET)

Big Discussion: Post Covid Policy Outlook

11 a.m.–1 p.m. PT (2–4 p.m. ET)

Lunch



11 a.m.–12:15 p.m. PT (2–3:15 p.m. ET)

Forum Roundtable Update**

Board meetings and industry discussions – please contact team@HealthEvolution.com if you are interested in hosting a meeting.
1–2 p.m. PT (4–5 p.m. ET)

Brass Tacks Discussions

1:15–2:15 p.m. PT (4–5 p.m. ET)

Brass Tacks Discussions

Stay the weekend...We encourage you and your guest or family to stay the weekend to relax and explore Southern California.

2–3:15 p.m. PT (5–6 p.m. ET)

Forum Roundtable Update**



3:30–4:30 p.m. PT (5:30–6:30 p.m. ET)

Brass Tacks Discussions

2:15–4 p.m. PT (5:15–7 p.m. ET)

Networking Break



2:30–3:45 p.m. PT (5:30–6:45 p.m. ET)

Forum Roundtable Update**

4–5 p.m. PT (7–8 p.m. ET)

Big Discussion*


5–6:30 p.m. PT (8–9:30 p.m. ET)

C-side Cheers**



5–8:30 p.m. PT (8–11:30 p.m. ET)

Cocktails + Dinner

5–8:30 p.m. PT (8–11:30 p.m. ET)

Cocktails + Dinner

8:30–10 p.m. PT (11:30 p.m.–1 a.m. ET)

After Hours

* These discussions will be live streamed during the Summit. All other discussions will only be available in-person.
** These discussions are by-invitation-only.



What to Expect at the 2021 Summit


Sponsors

 
We would not all be here today if not for our dedicated sponsors. We are immensely thankful for their investment of passion, brainpower and financial resources, making this powerful gathering—and our collective goal of fostering change for the better—possible. To view a list of our sponsors, please click here.


Retreat to Laguna

Perched atop a seaside bluff with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and miles of sandy beach, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel continues to redefine guest experiences by creating distinctive, unforgettable and epic memories. With a reimagined personality and playful approach to California luxury, the resort captivates guests from the moment of arrival with its awe-inspiring location. Located halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, along the coast of Dana Point, guests discover a surf-side retreat that awakens the senses with its unique beachfront setting and remarkable service heritage.


First time in Laguna?
Watch the video below to prepare for your time in Laguna.

 


Weather & Attire

Weather

The southern California coast enjoys a mild Mediterranean climate with over 300 days of sunshine per year. The average year-round high temperature is 65°F (19°C) with temperatures ranging from high 40s to mid-60s in early April.

Weather Link

Attire

The Summit is intended to be a comfortable and casual retreat, so leave your suits and ties at home! Think “retreat chic” when packing your bags: khaki, linen, jersey, casual-collared shirts and blouses. Events are held throughout the daytime and evening, both indoors and out, so plan accordingly as oceanside events may get chilly.


Register for the 2021 Summit