PARTNER WITH US
Summit Preview

2022 Summit

An invitation-only retreat of influential CEOs from across the industry
April 6-8, 2022 | Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel & Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach

Register

 

Candid discussions. Big minds. Real impact.

 

Health Evolution Summit is an invitation-only gathering that engages leaders committed to the transformation of health care. CEOs from health system, health plan, and life science organizations, as well as select policymakers, convene in an intimate environment to candidly debate ideas, build relationships and inspire creative solutions essential to the industry’s future. The 2022 Summit will be held on April 6-8 at the Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel and Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach.

Register here for the 2022 Summit on April 6-8.


2022 Summit Discussion Leaders

    • Amy P. Abernethy, MD, PhDPresident, Clinical Research Business, Verily; former Principal Deputy Commissioner, FDA
    • José (Joe) AlmeidaChairman, President & CEO, Baxter
    • George BarrettFounder, The Overtone Group; former Chairman & CEO, Cardinal Health
    • Marc L. Boom, MD President & CEO, Houston Methodist
    • David Brailer, MDExecutive Chairman, Health Evolution
    • Rosalind BrewerCEO, Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc.
    • Chiquita Brooks-LaSureAdministrator
      Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    • Bruce BroussardPresident & CEO, Humana
    • Aneesh ChopraPresident, CareJourney; former U.S. Chief Technology Officer
    • Jean Drouin, MDFounder & CEO, Clarify Health Solutions
    • Liz Fowler, PhDDeputy Administrator and Director, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation
    • Josh GolombCEO, Hazel Health
    • Tom lnsel, MDformer Director, National Institute of Mental Health
    • Kris Joshi, PhDPresident, Change Healthcare
    • Kim KeckPresident & CEO, Blue Cross Blue Shield Association
    • Julie KimPresident, U.S. Business Unit & U.S. Country Head, Takeda
    • Sarah KrevansCEO Emeritus, Sutter Health
    • Peter Lee, PhDCorporate VP, Microsoft Healthcare, Microsoft
    • Admiral Rachel L. Levine, MDAdmiral, U.S. Public Health Service & Assistant Secretary for Health U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    • Bill MarvinPresident & CEO, InstaMed; Managing Director & Head of Healthcare Payments, J.P. Morgan
    • Mark McClellan, MD, PhDDirector, Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy & Robert J. Margolis, M.D., Professor of Business, Medicine and Policy, Duke University
    • Dan MendelsonCEO, Morgan Health, JPMorgan Chase & Co.
    • Richard Merkin, MDFounder, President & CEO, Heritage Provider Network
    • Bernd Montag, PhDCEO, Siemens Healthineers
    • R. Lawrence Moss, MDPresident & CEO, Nemours Children’s Health
    • Mike MussallemChairman & CEO, Edwards Lifesciences
    • Brian D. PieninckPresident & CEO, CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield
    • David A. RicksChair & CEO, Eli Lilly and Company
    • Rhonda Robinson Beale, MDSVP & Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Mental Health Services, UnitedHealth Group
    • Cris RossChief Information Officer, Mayo Clinic
    • Justin RothHead of Investment Banking, TripleTree
    • Renee N. Salas, MDFaculty, Harvard Global Health Institute
    • Meena Seshamani, MD, PhDDeputy Administrator & Director of Center for Medicare, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    • Derek StreatCEO, DexCare
    • Warner ThomasPresident & CEO, Ochsner Health System
    • Susan L. Turney, MDCEO, Marshfield Clinic Health System
    • Andrea WalshPresident & CEO, HealthPartners
    • Anne WojcickiCo-Founder & CEO, 23andMe
    • Phoebe L. YangGeneral Manager, Amazon Web Services, Healthcare
    • Julie YooGeneral Partner, Andreessen Horowitz

Main Stage discussions will focus on three overarching themes: the new CEO leadership agenda, the shifting strategic landscape, and technology and innovation in the wake of the pandemic. The 2022 Summit agenda will focus on the top prospects for meaningful change, including discussion topics such as:

• Future Fortunes: The Competitive Landscape for Primary Care Five Years Out
• The Biden Health Care Agenda One Year In
• Provider Perspectives: Competing for Talent Amid “the Great Resignation”
• Payer Perspectives: The Future of Value-Based Care—and Interconnection with Health Equity
• Life Sciences Perspectives: Lessons Learned on Balancing Innovation and Resilience During the Pandemic
• Climate Care: Setting the Health Care Leadership Agenda
• Confronting the Mental Health Crisis in Earnest—Especially for Children and Families
• Big Data, Big Business


Agenda

view detailed Summit agenda ›
view on-site Summit information ›

Wednesday, April 6Thursday, April 7Friday, April 8
7–8:30 a.m. PT (10–11:30 a.m. ET)

Breakfast + Networking

7–8:30 a.m. PT (10–11:30 a.m. ET)

Breakfast + Networking

6:30–9:30 a.m. PT (10 a.m.–12:30 p.m. ET)

Breakfast + Big Discussions

9–11 a.m. PT (12 p.m.–2 p.m. ET)

Summit Welcome + Big Discussions

9–11 a.m. PT (12 p.m.–2 p.m. ET)

Big Discussions

11:30 a.m.–1 p.m. PT (2:30–4 p.m. ET)

Lunch + Networking



1–2 p.m. PT (4–5 p.m. ET)

Big Discussion

11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m. PT (2:30–4:30 p.m. ET)

Lunch + Networking

Board meetings and industry discussions – please contact team@HealthEvolution.com if you are interested in hosting a meeting.
2–3 p.m. PT (5–6 p.m. ET)

Brass Tacks Discussions



3:30–4:30 p.m. PT (6:30–7:30 p.m. ET)

Brass Tacks Discussions

1:30–2:30 p.m. PT (4:30–5:30 p.m. ET)

Brass Tacks Discussions



2:45–3:45 p.m. PT (5:45–6:45 p.m. ET)

Brass Tacks Discussions

Stay the weekend...We encourage you and your guest or family to stay the weekend to relax and explore Southern California.

4:30–5:30 p.m. PT (7:30–8:30 p.m. ET)

Networking Break

@ Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
4–5 p.m. PT (7–8 p.m. ET)

Big Discussion

4:30–8:30 p.m. PT (7:30–11:30 p.m. ET)

Cocktails + Dinner

@ Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
5–8:30 p.m. PT (8–11:30 p.m. ET)

Cocktails + Dinner

8:30–10:30 p.m. PT (11:30 p.m.–1:30 a.m. ET)

After Hours

@ Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach
8:30–10:30 p.m. PT (11:30 p.m.–1:30 a.m. ET)

After Hours



What to Expect at the 2022 Summit

 

 

Precautionary Protocols

We are committed to convening a safe and meaningful Summit this coming April. Similar to our experience gathering together this past August, we will once again put in place a strong set of precautionary protocols for all participants. We will continue to refine our protocols as needed to reflect the latest guidance from the CDC, state, and local health officials. Our precautionary protocols include the following steps:

  • We will require all participants to be fully vaccinated against Covid-19 and show proof of vaccination to attend the Summit this year. Booster shots are strongly recommended.
  • We will also require all attendees to take a Covid test prior to arrival and share their negative test result in order to complete registration on site.
  • Similar to last year, seating for our indoor sessions will be spaced out to enable physical distancing.
  • We will once again make the Summit as outdoor-oriented as possible, with all main stage sessions simulcast on outdoor monitors and available on our virtual platform for attendees to participate from anywhere on campus. Likewise, a number of the social events will take place in the spectacular outdoor settings that our two hotels in Laguna offer.
  • We will communicate expectations about attendees wearing masks at indoor gatherings prior to the Summit to ensure we adhere to the latest state and local health department guidelines.

Sponsors

 
We would not all be here today if not for our dedicated sponsors. We are immensely thankful for their investment of passion, brainpower and financial resources, making this powerful gathering—and our collective goal of fostering change for the better—possible. To view a list of our sponsors, please click here.


Retreat to Laguna

Perched atop a seaside bluff with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and miles of sandy beach, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel continues to redefine guest experiences by creating distinctive, unforgettable and epic memories. With a reimagined personality and playful approach to California luxury, the resort captivates guests from the moment of arrival with its awe-inspiring location. Located halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, along the coast of Dana Point, guests discover a surf-side retreat that awakens the senses with its unique beachfront setting and remarkable service heritage.


First time in Laguna?
Watch the video below to prepare for your time in Laguna.

 


Weather & Attire

Weather

The southern California coast enjoys a mild Mediterranean climate with over 300 days of sunshine per year. The average year-round high temperature is 65°F (19°C) with temperatures ranging from high 40s to mid-60s in early April.

Weather Link

Attire

The Summit is intended to be a comfortable and casual retreat, so leave your suits and ties at home! Think “retreat chic” when packing your bags: khaki, linen, jersey, casual-collared shirts and blouses. Events are held throughout the daytime and evening, both indoors and out, so plan accordingly as oceanside events may get chilly.


Register for the 2022 Summit