Reinventing Primary Care and Preventative Care Models

Learn more about Fellowship >

Work Group Charter

Primary care is plagued by the duad of provider burnout coupled with patient satisfaction challenges. This is because the dominant primary care paradigm continues to revolve around antiquated fee-for-service practices that drive volume over value. Primary care is increasingly moving from solo practices and small groups to being vertically integrated into hospital systems or horizontally integrated into corporate groups. New primary care models are emerging such as team-based, at-risk, concierge services, virtual care, and retail-based models. The COVID-19 pandemic has acclimatized our citizens to virtual care models, and as a consequence patients will likely demand more patient-centered and alternative models in the future. The goal of this Work Group is to develop a model for primary care delivery for the future that puts the patient first, is team based, and assumes that care happens wherever convenient for the patient as a default, with an aim toward same-day appointments.   


  • Gaurov Dayal, MD , President & COO, Everside Health

  • Rebekah Gee, MD, CEO, LSU Health - Health Care Services Division (HCSD)

Industry Advisers

  • Peter Antall, Chief Medical Officer, Amwell

  • Amir Bacchus, MD, Chief Medical Officer, P3 Health Partners

  • Nick Loporcaro, CEO, Landmark Health

  • Mark Shaver, SVP Strategy, Welltower

Work Group Partners

Work Group Fellows

Michael Anderes, Inception Health, Froedtert Health

Peter Antall, Amwell

Amir Bacchus, MD, P3 Health Partners

Chris Cigarran, Imagine Health

Gaurov Dayal, MD, Everside Health

Rebekah Gee, MD, LSU Health - Health Care Services Division (HCSD)

Joshua Golomb, Hazel Health

Steve Greene, ChenMed

Vinod Khosla, Khosla Ventures

Andrew Kobylinski, Primary Diagnostics, Inc.

Nick Loporcaro, Landmark Health

Paul Marchetti, Anthem, Inc

Chris Miller, Paladina Health

Shawn Morris, Privia Health

John Olympitis, Welltower

Tim Petrikin, CityLife Health

Deb Rice-Johnson, Highmark Inc.

Chad Robins, Adaptive Biotechnologies

Katherine Ryder, Maven Clinic

Jaewon Ryu, MD, Geisinger Health System

Lou Shapiro, Hospital for Special Surgery

Mark Shaver, University of Maryland Medical System

Lynn Simon, MD, Community Health Systems, Inc.

Sara Vaezy, Providence St. Joseph Health

Andrew Watson, MD, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

John Woolley, Hatfield Medical Group

Felicity Yost, Tia Inc

Contact Us for More Information